Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/media"

Media

Game Idea Game

2016-10-03

Game Idea Game

In the typical game design process, lots and lots of ideas are created, iterated, improved, sometimes fleshed out and developed, sometimes discarded. When searching for that next brilliant game concept, it can be very useful to get a few people together for a brainstorming session and just start pumping out ideas and talking about them. Coming up with a wide variety of game ideas is a skill that does not come naturally to everyone, but it is something that can be practiced and trained.

This set of cards was developed to give aspiring game designers those initial sparks. Staring at a blank page can be daunting, so the cards give keywords from various categories that can foster and steer creativity, to be used in any way that gets the ideas flowing.

I created the Game Idea Game for a student project I led at the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar in 2015/2016. After that, it sat on my to-do list for a while, but now it's finally available online.

Revelation Mentis – The first game I ever programmed

2015-06-03

Revelation Mentis – The first game I ever programmed

Revelation Mentis is the first game that I programmed completely on my own.

It is based on the popular top-down action adventures of the 90s (The Legend of Zelda in particular). The task in the game is to be a hero and collect the four parts of a mystical artifact. To that end, obstacles such as bushes and chasms have to be overcome in the randomly generated 2D landscapes. A complete playthrough usually lasts no longer than a minute or two. All of the on-screen text is unfortunately only available in German, but the objectives should be obvious enough.

It was created in 1999 (with a slight overhaul in 2002) using Borland Turbo Pascal 7.0 and symbolizes a milestone in my programming career, but my technical capabilities and my knowledge were of course limited, so the game really has no real justification to be played today at all. My first steps in programming consisted mainly of making changes to existing source code. Revelation Mentis was the first game (and also the first non-trivial software at all) that I wrote completely from scratch. The 629 lines of Pascal code incidentally also hide some bugs that have quite interesting effects in-game, but which I do not expect to ever fix after such a long time...

Revelation Mentis can be played right here on my website. Alternatively, there is a downloadable version, which may for example be run in DOSBox; the source code is also included.

Ink Wars: Gameplay Prototype Footage and Developer Commentary

2012-08-11, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Ink Wars: Gameplay Prototype Footage and Developer Commentary

This video is a demonstration of the game Ink Wars, developed by a team of five students in 2009 and 2010 at the University of Hamburg. It features in-game footage and an extensive developer commentary by yours truly, detailing game mechanics and network code.

Music: Bastian Ruhrmann - Ink Wars Original Soundtrack, Approaching Nirvana - The Way Home (YouTube), melodysheep - Chasing Infinity (Tiberius), Ason ID - Memories, red3yz - dubby, Blackmill - The Light, machinimasound - After Dark, Andrey Avkhimovich - Back in Time, Approaching Nirvana - So Close (YouTube)

Interaction Design Project 2012: Neverball

2012-07-20, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Interaction Design Project 2012: Neverball

On July 11th 2012, participants of the Interaction Design course (refer to the HCI group website) at the Department of Computer Science of the University of Hamburg displayed and showcased the results of their projects. They developed concepts and prototypes of input mechanics for the game Neverball. This video is a collection of the results.

Julian in Minecraft

2012-06-20

Julian in Minecraft

In this video series, I traverse the world of Minecraft while reflecting on various topics within the general vicinity of Human Computer Interaction and related fields. It is thus a mixture between a classic Let's Play series as well as a vlog, inspired by a project by Michael Karbacher.

This project is essentially an experiment with unknown outcomes. Feedback, critique and other external impulses are always welcome.

Intro music: "Itty Bitty 8 Bit" by Kevin MacLeod, used under CC-BY

ZuuL - Development Visualization with Gource

2012-03-13, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

ZuuL - Development Visualization with Gource

This video visualizes the development process of our ZuuL game created for the Softwareentwicklungspraktikum at the University of Hamburg in 2009. The SVN log files were processed using Gource and the result was recorded.

Music: Approaching Nirvana - Will Rain

Working with LaTeX

2012-02-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Working with LaTeX

"Working with LaTeX" (original German: "Arbeiten mit LaTeX") is the title for a seminar that I have conducted in the fall semester 2011/12 for the Department of Computer Science, University of Hamburg.

The video lectures are collected here.

All videos are published under CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Music: (A) in Mono - Cube-shaped, used under CC-BY-NC 3.0.

Financially supported by the Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg.

UHH Anti-Logos

2012-01-12

UHH Anti-Logos

The University of Hamburg has an official logo that may only be used in compliance with certain guidelines. Notably, (according to the Bureau for Communication and Public Relations, as of February 2010) it may not be used in documents which are published under free licenses (e.g. Creative Commons).

In some document templates, there exists a special place for the logo or it might even be included by default, and its omission would result in an ugly gap. In cases where a total omission of the logo is not desirable (whatever the reason), you could instead use one of these "anti-logos", satirical replacements for the original logo. They're visually similiar to the official logo, but are distinct enough to be immediately recognizable as satire.

I do not use these logos myself, they were created to accompany a talk about OpenAccess and were made (not accidentally) to appear humorous.

Making Of "Software-Wiederverwendung"

2011-11-29, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Making Of "Software-Wiederverwendung"

This is a timelapse recording of me creating the slides for my talk about software reuse, based on chapter 16 of Ian Sommerville's popular book "Software Engineering". Five to six hours of screen recording have been condensed to five minutes for this video.

Tools used: LaTeX, Kile, Inkscape, yEd (shortly), Firefox, evince and probably more. Running Ubuntu Linux 11.10.

Music: Approaching Nirvana with Bangers & Smashed, available on Bandcamp or iTunes.

Interaction Design Project: Neverball

2011-08-16, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Interaction Design Project: Neverball

In the "Interaction Design" course of 2011 at the Dept. of Informatics, University of Hamburg, students for Human Computer Interaction, Informatics and Business Informatics took part in a project centered around the game Neverball. This video presents the results.

University of Hamburg, Dept. of Informatics

Music: Kevin MacLeod, CC-BY 3.0 "Wallpaper", "Cipher", "Slow Burn" (in order of appearance)

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/media“

Media

Game Idea Game

2016-10-03

Game Idea Game

In einem typischen Game-Design-Prozess werden unzählige Ideen entworfen, iteriert, verbessert, manchmal detailliert umgesetzt, manchmal wieder verworfen. Auf der Suche nach der nächsten großen Idee kann es nützlich sein, sich mit ein paar Leuten zu einem Brainstorming zusammenzusetzen, einfach mal reihenweise Ideen in den Raum zu werfen und sich darüber auszutauschen. Die Fähigkeit, ohne viel Drumherum eine Vielfalt an spontanen Ideen entwickeln zu können, fällt nicht jedem in den Schoß, aber sie kann geübt und trainiert werden.

Diese Kartensammlung wurde entwickelt, um werdende Game Designer beim Finden des ersten Geistesblitzes zu unterstützen. Es kann einschüchternd sein, auf eine leere Seite zu starren, deshalb geben die Karten Stichwörter aus verschiedenen Kategorien als Impulse, um die Kreativität zu unterstützen und die Ideen fließen zu lassen.

Ich habe das Game Idea Game für ein Studentenprojekt an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar im Wintersemester 2015/2016 entwickelt, welches ich geleitet habe. Danach lag es eine Weile in meiner To-Do-Liste herum, aber jetzt ist es endlich online verfügbar.

Revelation Mentis – Mein erstes selbst-programmiertes Spiel

2015-06-03

Revelation Mentis – Mein erstes selbst-programmiertes Spiel

Bei Revelation Mentis handelt es sich um das erste Spiel, das ich komplett allein programmiert habe.

Es ist angelehnt an die Top-Down Action Adventures der 90er Jahre (vor allem The Legend of Zelda). Die Aufgabe im Spiel ist es, als Held die vier Teile eines mystischen Artefaktes einzusammeln, wofür in den zufallsgenerierten 2D-Landschaften Hindernisse wie Gebüsche und Abgründe überwunden werden müssen. Ein kompletter Durchgang dauert normalerweise nicht länger als ein bis zwei Minuten.

Es entstand 1999 (mit leichter Überarbeitung 2002) unter Verwendung von Borland Turbo Pascal 7.0 und kennzeichnet einen Meileinstein in meiner Programmierlaufbahn, allerdings waren meine technischen Möglichkeiten und mein Fachwissen natürlich noch sehr gering, weshalb das Spiel eigentlich keine nennenswerte Rechtfertigung hat, heute noch gespielt zu werden. Meine ersten Schritte bestanden vor allem aus dem Verändern von bereits vorhandenen Quelltexten. Revelation Mentis war dann das erste Spiel (und auch die erste nichttriviale Software insgesamt), die ich von null an komplett selbst geschrieben habe. In den 629 Zeilen Pascal-Code verstecken sich übrigens auch einige Bugs mit interessanten Auswirkungen im Spiel, die ich aber nach so langer Zeit voraussichtlich nicht beheben werde...

Revelation Mentis kann direkt hier auf meiner Website gespielt werden. Alternativ gibt es eine Download-Version, welche z.B. in DOSBox ausgeführt werden kann; der Quellcode liegt ebenfalls bei.

Ink Wars: Prototyp-Videomaterial und Entwicklerkommentar

2012-08-11, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Ink Wars: Prototyp-Videomaterial und Entwicklerkommentar

Dieses Video demonstriert das Spiel Ink Wars, welches von einem fünfköpfigen Team von Studierenden im Wintersemester 2009/2010 an der Universität Hamburg entwickelt wurde. Im Video wird der Spielablauf gezeigt und es gibt einen ausgiebigen englischen Entwicklerkommentar von meiner Wenigkeit, in dem Spielmechaniken und Netzwerktechnik erläutert wird.

Musik: Bastian Ruhrmann - Ink Wars Original Soundtrack, Approaching Nirvana - The Way Home (YouTube), melodysheep - Chasing Infinity (Tiberius), Ason ID - Memories, red3yz - dubby, Blackmill - The Light, machinimasound - After Dark, Andrey Avkhimovich - Back in Time, Approaching Nirvana - So Close (YouTube)

Interaktionsdesign-Projekt 2012: Neverball

2012-07-20, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Interaktionsdesign-Projekt 2012: Neverball

Am 11. Juli 2012 haben die Teilnehmer des Moduls Interaktionsdesign (siehe MCI-Website) am Fachbereich Informatik der Universität Hamburg die Projektergebnisse aus ihren Übungen präsentiert. Entwickelt wurden Steuerungskonzepte und -prototypen für das Spiel Neverball. In diesem Video sind die Ergebnisse wiedergegeben.

Julian in Minecraft

2012-06-20

Julian in Minecraft

In dieser Videoserie bewege ich mich durch die Welt von Minecraft, während ich über verschiedene Themen aus dem Umfeld der Mensch-Computer-Interaktion und verwandten Bereichen spreche. Es handelt sich also um eine Mischung aus Let's Play und Vlog, stark angelehnt an ein Projekt von Michael Karbacher.

Es handelt sich bei diesem Projekt um ein Experiment mit ungewissem Ausgang. Um Feedback und sonstige Impulse wird stets gebeten.

Intro-Musik: "Itty Bitty 8 Bit" von Kevin MacLeod, CC-BY

ZuuL - Entwicklungsvisualisierung mit Gource

2012-03-13, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

ZuuL - Entwicklungsvisualisierung mit Gource

Dieses Video ist eine Visualisierung der Entwicklung des ZuuL-Projekts, das im Rahmen des Softwareentwicklungspraktikums 2009 entstanden ist. Die SVN-Log-Daten wurden mit Gource verarbeitet und das Ergebnis wurde aufgezeichnet.

Musik: Approaching Nirvana - Will Rain

Arbeiten mit LaTeX

2012-02-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Arbeiten mit LaTeX

Unter dem Titel "Arbeiten mit LaTeX" habe ich im Wintersemester 2011/12 ein Tutorium für Studierende am Fachbereich Informatik der Universität Hamburg veranstaltet.

Die Video-Lektionen dazu sind hier gesammelt.

Alle Videos veröffentlicht unter CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0.

Musik: (A) in Mono - Cube-shaped, used under CC-BY-NC 3.0.

Gefördert durch den Fachbereich Informatik der Universität Hamburg.

UHH-Anti-Logos

2012-01-12

UHH-Anti-Logos

Die Universität Hamburg hat ein offizielles Logo, dessen Verwendung jedoch an bestimmte Regeln gebunden ist. Insbesondere ist es (laut Aussage der Abteilung "Kommunikation & Öffentlichkeitsarbeit", Stand: Februar 2010) untersagt, das Logo in Dokumenten zu verwenden, die freien Lizenzen (wie z.B. Creative Commons) unterliegen.

In einigen Dokumentvorlagen ist Platz für das Logo vorgesehen und ein Weglassen würde eine hässliche Lücke nach sich ziehen. In Fällen, in denen eine vollständige Auslassung des Logos (aus welchen Gründen auch immer) nicht möglich ist, kann stattdessen eines dieser satirischen Anti-Logos verwendet werden. Sie ähneln gestalterisch dem offiziellen Logo, sind jedoch verschieden genug um eindeutig als Satire erkennbar zu sein.

Ich selbst verwende diese Logos nicht, sie wurden für einen Vortrag zum Thema OpenAccess erstellt und dienen nicht unabsichtlich auch der Belustigung.

Making Of "Software-Wiederverwendung"

2011-11-29, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Making Of "Software-Wiederverwendung"

Hierbei handelt es sich um eine Zeitraffer-Aufnahme davon, wie ich die Folien zu meinem Seminarvortrag zum Thema "Software-Wiederverwendung" erstellt habe. Verwertet sind fünf bis sechs Stunden Bildschirmaufnahme, die hier auf fünf Minuten gestaucht werden.

Benutzte Software: LaTeX, Kile, Inkscape, yEd (kurz zu sehen), Firefox, evince und wahrscheinlich noch mehr. Das alles läuft auf Ubuntu Linux 11.10.

Musik: Approaching Nirvana mit Bangers & Smashed, erhältlich auf Bandcamp oder iTunes.

Interaktionsdesign-Projekt: Neverball

2011-08-16, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Interaktionsdesign-Projekt: Neverball

Im Modul "Interaktionsdesign" am Fachbereich Informatik der Universität Hamburg haben sich Studierende aus den Studiengängen Mensch-Computer-Interaktion, Informatik und Wirtschaftsinformatik im Sommersemester 2011 konstruktiv mit dem Spiel Neverball befasst. Dieses Video ist eine Präsentation der Ergebnisse.

Universität Hamburg, Fachbereich Informatik

Musik: Kevin MacLeod, CC-BY 3.0 "Wallpaper", "Cipher", "Slow Burn" (in dieser Reihenfolge)

RSS