Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/media/2"

Media

Voxel based Mandelbulb in POV-Ray

2010-02-15

Voxel based Mandelbulb in POV-Ray

This is a POV-Ray rendering of a 1024x1024x1024 voxel computation of the standard 8th power mandelbulb, as seen at Skytopia.

Rendered in 640x480, 24 FPS, using a combination of ray tracing (using two light sources) and radiosity.

Aesthetically, this doesn't really surpass existing videos. The fractal structure is not immediately apparent due to the relatively low voxel resolution. For me, this was more of an "I must climb it because it is there" idea. ;)

To see a way better, truly breathtaking mandelbulb rendering, see the work of Iñigo Quílez. Also, check out how Cyril Crassin does this in real time (!) using CUDA.

AarophY - Trailer

2010-02-03, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

AarophY - Trailer

This video was created by Janina Nemec, Christopher Schewe and me for the Interactive Visual Computing course at the Department of Computer Science, University of Hamburg. The visuals are entirely made with POV-Ray 3.6.

This is a trailer for a fictional adventure game called AarophY, conceived as a sequel to the game ZuuL, which was developed in a different university course by a team of which Janina, Christopher and me were members. ZuuL, a rudimentary "dungeon crawler" with top down perspective, is where many of the ideas in this trailer originated - for example the cheese and sausages that seem to be strewn around the chambers.

Shouts out go to Bastian Ruhrmann, who generously donated a custom piece of music originally created for a different project. The song that's played during the credits is called "I Feel Fantastic", sung and played by the fabulous Jonathan Coulton, and is used under CC-BY-NC.

We used a POV-Ray torch flame originally created by Kenneth W., for whom I unfortunately could not find a contact address (if you're reading this and want to be credited more/differently, let me know!), and a fur texture by Rune Skovbo Johansen, who has lots of cool and useful POV-Ray information, among other things, at his website: http://runevision.com/

Feel free to have a look at other movies created for IVC.

This video is released under CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0. Some of the material we used may also be available under different licenses from other sources.

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/media/2“

Media

Voxelbasiertes Mandelbulb in POV-Ray

2010-02-15

Voxelbasiertes Mandelbulb in POV-Ray

Hierbei handelt es sich um ein mit POV-Ray erstelltes Rendervideo eines in einem 1024x1024x1024 großen Voxelgitter berechneten Mandelbulb der achten Potenz, wie erstmals auf Skytopia beschrieben.

Gerendert in 640x480, 24 FPS, mit einer Kombination aus Raytracing (zwei Lichtquellen) und Radiosity.

Aus ästhetischer Sicht ist dieses Video nicht revolutionär. Die fraktale Struktur ist aufgrund der relativ geringen Voxelzahl nicht sehr gut erkennbar. Für mich lief diese Idee unter "I must climb it because it is there". ;)

Für spannendere und wahrhaft atemberaubende Mandelbulb-Videos verweise ich auf die Arbeit von Iñigo Quílez. Ebenfalls sehenswert ist, wie Cyril Crassin Vergleichbares in Echtzeit (!) mit CUDA berechnet.

AarophY - Trailer

2010-02-03, Department Informatik, Universität Hamburg

AarophY - Trailer

Dieser Film wurde von Janina Nemec, Christopher Schewe und mir für das Modul "Interactive Visual Computing" erstellt. Die Bilder sind komplett mit POV-Ray 3.6 gerendert worden.

Es handelt sich um einen Trailer für ein fiktives Adventure-Spiel namens AarophY, den Nachfolger von ZuuL, welches wiederum in einem anderen Informatik-Modul von einem Team entwickelt wurde, zu dem auch Janina, Christopher und ich gehörten. ZuuL, eine Art abgespeckter "Dungeon Crawler" mit Top-Down-Ansicht, ist der Ursprung der meisten Akteure und Requisiten in diesem Trailer - zum Beispiel des Käses und der Würste, die scheinbar zufällig im Kellergewölbe herumliegen.

Ein ganz herzlicher Dank geht an Bastian Ruhrmann, der großzügig ein Musikstück gesponsert hat, welches er ursprünglich für ein anderes Projekt komponiert hatte. Das Lied, das während des Abspanns gespielt wird, ist "I Feel Fantastic", gesungen und gespielt vom unvergleichlichen Jonathan Coulton, der seine Musik netterweise unte CC-BY-NC stellt.

Wir haben einen POV-Ray-Feuer-Effekt verwendet, der von Kenneth W. entwickelt und ins Internet gestellt wurde, für den ich jedoch leider keine Kontakadresse finden konnte (wenn du das hier liest und evtl. anders genannt oder verlinkt werden möchtest, gib mir bescheid!), und eine Felltextur von Rune Skovbo Johansen, der auf seiner Webseite jede Menge nützliche Infos zu POV-Ray gesammelt hat: http://runevision.com/

Weitere IVC-Abschlussfilme gibt es auf der Webseite der Veranstalter zu sehen.

Dieses Video ist freigegeben unter CC-BY-NC-SA 3.0. Einige der verwendeten Materialien sind möglicherweise noch anderswo unter kompatiblen Lizensen zu finden.

RSS