Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks"

Talks

My interests, previous work, and ideas for the future

2015-06-02, Faculty of Media, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

My interests, previous work, and ideas for the future

I held this talk in the undergraduate thesis writers' seminar of the HCI group. The idea was to introduce myself and my research interests.

Impacting the social presence of virtual agents by scaling the fidelity of their speech and movement – Thesis defense

2015-01-23, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Impacting the social presence of virtual agents by scaling the fidelity of their speech and movement – Thesis defense

Virtual agents are constructs that fulfill human or human-like roles in virtual environments, but are directly controlled by software instead of real humans. They have use cases such as presenting information, demonstrationg actions or simulating a social environment. If a real person perceives them as sufficiently human-like, they may induce social phenomena like empathy, competition or conversational turn taking, even if the real person is consciously aware that the agent is purely virtual.

My master's thesis explores the influence of technical fidelity in terms of their speech and movement. Both of these two variables were assigned different implementations of varying technical sophistication, from text-to-speech output to fully recorded voices and from a completely rigid idle body to a high-quality relaxed idle animation based on motion capturing data. The various combinations were tested in an experiment using a head-mounted virtual reality display in order to measure their influence on perceived social presence. In this talk, I described the experiment and summarized its results.

Rapid prototyping of interaction concepts in higher HCI education

2014-09-15, HDI 2014, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

Rapid prototyping of interaction concepts in higher HCI education

In teaching HCI (Human-Computer Interaction), there is the persistent challenge of constructing practical exercises with interesting goals while staying focused on HCI and not getting lost in technical details. In the introductory course "Interaction Design" at the University of Hamburg, students have three weeks to conceptualize and implement prototypical interaction concepts for the game Neverball. In contrast to most other HCI introductory courses, they do not design mock-ups, but produce actual concrete software. To make this possible within the three-week timespan, Neverball has been extended with a TCP-based interface. This renders the costly familiarization with the game's source code unnecessary and the students are able to concentrate on their interaction prototypes. We recount our experiences from several iterations of the project and describe our methods during its execution. The results shall support other teachers and lecturers in the area of HCI in creating similar praxis-oriented exercises with results that "can be touched".

These slides were used for the short presentation at HDI 2014 (6th conference on university didactics of computer science).

A Miracle Cure to Boost Self-Efficacy and Enhance Study Competence

2014-01-28, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

A Miracle Cure to Boost Self-Efficacy and Enhance Study Competence

This Lightning Talk took place at the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by computer science students at the University of Hamburg.

In five minutes I demonstrated a simple method for computer science (and related) students in Hamburg to improve their study situation for very little effort. I provided a link to the official collection of documents that govern the individual degree programmes and showed how one can find the documents that are relevant to oneself. I ended the talk with a plea to spend the short amount of time that it takes to read these documents once and for all.

Developing a software tool for interpreting Gymnasium students' grades – Thesis defense

2014-01-09, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Developing a software tool for interpreting Gymnasium students' grades – Thesis defense

Students at the Gymnasium (Germany's highest tier of general education) are often eager to get an overview of their scholarly accomplishments to be able to make predictions about their future options, but the system is rather complex.

For my bachelor's thesis in the HCI programme, I have designed and developed an application to support the students and encourage self-assessment. It is capable of calculating average grades and pointing out encouraging as well as dangerous trends.

In this talk in the HCI seminar, I presented my empirical results and development work.

Developing a software tool for interpreting Gymnasium students' grades

2013-06-13, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Developing a software tool for interpreting Gymnasium students' grades

Students at the Gymnasium (Germany's highest tier of general education) are often eager to get an overview of their scholarly accomplishments to be able to make predictions about their future options, but the system is rather complex.

For my bachelor's thesis in the HCI programme, I plan to develop a software system to support the students and encourage self-assessment. To that end, it will calculate average grades and point out encouraging as well as dangerous trends.

In this talk in the HCI seminar, I presented my idea and the project plan for the development.

Gamification – Where do we stand?

2012-07-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Gamification – Where do we stand?

This guest talk took place in the Interaction Design lecture of Prof. Dr. Kindsmüller.

In 15 minutes I gave an overview of the general concept and limitations of gamification. I started out with a general clarification of the term, and continued by showcasing it using a real-world example. Using the Gartner Hype Cycle, I offered a partial explanation for the problems that gamification has been associated with. I concluded with a very brief venture into the area of game design.

Musik: McFarland Beats - Slipped, used under CC-BY

Unemployment from a psychological perspective

2012-06-12, Dept. of Psychology, University of Hamburg

Unemployment from a psychological perspective

This talk was conducted in the auxiliary seminar for the course Employment- and Organizational Psychology by a group of three students of which I was one.

After a short clarification of some important vocabulary, we supplied an overview of the employment-related legislation of the last ten years in Germany, with a strong focus on the Hartz laws. As a little intermezzo, we showed an excerpt from Volker Pispers' cabaret programme concerning Hartz IV. After that, we explained the details of a study about the subjective wellbeing of long-term unemployed people in relation to an initative called Arbeitsbeschaffungsmaßnahmen. We concluded the talk with a plenary discussion on some specialized questions.

Complexity and Usability 2012

2012-05-10, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Complexity and Usability 2012

There was a time when software couldn't do much and was easily understood in full. What has changed and what has stayed the same? Software is supposed to accomplish more and be easier to use at the same time – is that an irreconcilable contradiction? Is there a "new simplicity", or does the path lead into a jungle of complexity?

From the UNIX philosophy, the personal computer revolution and the Web 2.0 up to recent smartphone apps, I examined the overall development of the interface complexity of software. Especially, I scrutinized the concept of "simplicity" critically. On the basis of these observations and incorporating theoretical knowledge from interaction- as well as game design, recent examples and models for constructively dealing with functional complexity were explained.

This talk took place in the HCI research colloquium.

Streets4MPI (Parallel Programming Project)

2012-04-04, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Streets4MPI (Parallel Programming Project)

This talk marks the official end of the Parallel Programming project.

We presented our results by explainig the algorithms and technical underpinnings of our software, showing visual examples and comparing runtime data for different parallelization scenarios.

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks“

Vorträge

Meine Interessen, bisherige Tätigkeiten und Ideen für die Zukunft

2015-06-02, Fakultät Medien, Bauhaus-Universität Weimar

Meine Interessen, bisherige Tätigkeiten und Ideen für die Zukunft

Diesen Vortrag habe ich im Rahmen des Abschlussarbeiter-Treffens der HCI-Gruppe gehalten. Er diente vor allem dazu, mich und meine thematischen Schwerpunkte kurz vorzustellen.

Einfluss der Wiedergabetreue von Sprache und Bewegung virtueller Agenten auf ihre soziale Präsenz – Kolloquium

2015-01-23, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Einfluss der Wiedergabetreue von Sprache und Bewegung virtueller Agenten auf ihre soziale Präsenz – Kolloquium

Virtuelle Agenten sind Softwarekonstrukte, die in virtuellen Umgebungen menschliche oder menschenähnliche Rollen annehmen, selbst jedoch von Software statt von realen Menschen gesteuert werden. Sie haben Anwendungsgebiete wie Informationspräsentation, Handlungsvorschau oder Simulation sozialer Interaktionen. Nimmt eine reale Person sie als hinreichend menschlich wahr, lösen sie möglicherweise soziale Phänomene wie Empathie, Wettkampf oder Konversation aus, sogar wenn die reale Person bewusst weiß, dass der Agent rein virtuell ist.

Meine Masterarbeit untersucht den Einfluss von technischer Wiedergabetreue ("fidelity") bezogen auf ihre Sprache und Bewegung. Beiden Variablen wurden verschiedene Implementationen von variierender technischer Raffinität zugewiesen, von Text-to-Speech-Ausgaben bis zu vollständigen Audio-Aufnahmen, und von einem komplett starren ruhenden Körper zu eine qualitativ hochwertigen Ruhebewegungs-Animation basierend auf Motion-Capturing-Daten. Die verschiedenen Kombinationen wurden in einem Experiment mit einem Head-Mounted Display und einer Virtual-Reality-Umgebung getestet, um ihren Einfluss auf die wahrgenommene soziale Präsenz zu messen. In diesem Vortrag habe ich das Experiment beschrieben und die Ergebnisse zusammengefasst.

Rapid Prototyping von Interaktionskonzepten in der universitären MCI-Lehre

2014-09-15, HDI 2014, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg

Rapid Prototyping von Interaktionskonzepten in der universitären MCI-Lehre

In der Lehre zur MCI (Mensch-Computer-Interaktion) stellt sich immer wieder die Herausforderung, praktische Übungen mit spannenden Ergebnissen durchzuführen, die sich dennoch nicht in technischen Details verlieren sondern MCI-fokussiert bleiben. Im Lehrmodul „Interaktionsdesign“ an der Universität Hamburg werden von Studierenden innerhalb von drei Wochen prototypische Interaktionskonzepte für das Spiel Neverball entworfen und praktisch umgesetzt. Anders als in den meisten Grundlagenkursen zur MCI werden hier nicht Mock-Ups, sondern lauffähige Software entwickelt. Um dies innerhalb der Projektzeit zu ermöglichen, wurde Neverball um eine TCP-basierte Schnittstelle erweitert. So entfällt die aufwändige Einarbeitung in den Quellcode des Spiels und die Studierenden können sich auf ihre Interaktionsprototypen konzentrieren. Wir beschreiben die Erfahrungen aus der mehrmaligen Durchführung des Projektes und erläutern unser Vorgehen bei der Umsetzung. Die Ergebnisse sollen Lehrende im Bereich MCI unterstützen, ähnliche praxisorientierte Übungen mit Ergebnissen „zum Anfassen“ zu gestalten.

Diese Präsentationsfolien gehören zum Kurzvortrag auf der HDI 2014 (6. Fachtagung zur Hochschuldidaktik der Informatik).

Ein Wundermittel zur Steigerung der Selbstwirksamkeit und Studienkompetenz

2014-01-28, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Ein Wundermittel zur Steigerung der Selbstwirksamkeit und Studienkompetenz

Bei diesem Vortrag handelte es sich um einen Lightning Talk im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik.

In fünf Minuten habe ich eine Methode vorgestellt, mit der Studierende am Fachbereich Informatik in Hamburg mit wenig Aufwand eine starke Verbesserung ihrer Studiensituation erreichen können. Dazu habe ich den Link zur offiziellen Sammlung der Prüfungsordnungen und FSBs gezeigt und beschrieben, wie man die jeweils für sich relevanten Dokumente findet. Geendet habe ich mit der nachdrücklichen Empfehlung, sich diese einfach mal gründlich durchzulesen.

Entwicklung einer Software zum Interpretieren von Zeugnisnoten für Oberstufenschüler – Kolloquium

2014-01-09, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Entwicklung einer Software zum Interpretieren von Zeugnisnoten für Oberstufenschüler – Kolloquium

Abiturienten in Niedersachsen, sowie in Deutschland allgemein, haben es oft nicht leicht, im Laufe der Oberstufe einen fundierten Überblick über ihre bisherigen Leistungen zu bekommen und Zukunftsprognosen zu machen.

Im Rahmen meiner Bachelorarbeit im Studiengang Mensch-Computer-Interaktion habe ich eine Anwendung entwickelt, die die Schüler hierbei unterstützt. Sie kann Durchschnitte berechnen sowie Potenziale für Erfolge und Gefahren aufzeigen.

In diesem Vortrag im MCI-Oberseminar habe ich meine empirischen Ergebnisse und die implementierte Software gezeigt.

Entwicklung einer Software zum Interpretieren von Zeugnisnoten für Oberstufenschüler

2013-06-13, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Entwicklung einer Software zum Interpretieren von Zeugnisnoten für Oberstufenschüler

Abiturienten in Niedersachsen, sowie in Deutschland allgemein, haben es oft nicht leicht, im Laufe der Oberstufe einen fundierten Überblick über ihre bisherigen Leistungen zu bekommen und Zukunftsprognosen zu machen.

Im Rahmen meiner Bachelorarbeit im Studiengang Mensch-Computer-Interaktion möchte ich eine Software entwickeln, die die Schüler hierbei unterstützt. Dazu sollen Durchschnitte berechnet sowie Potenziale für Erfolge und Gefahren aufgezeigt werden.

In diesem Vortrag im MCI-Oberseminar habe ich die Idee sowie meinen Ablaufplan für die Entwicklung vorgestellt.

Gamification – Stand der Dinge

2012-07-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Gamification – Stand der Dinge

Dieser Gastvortrag wurde im Rahmen der Vorlesung "Interaktionsdesign" gehalten, die von Prof. Dr. Kindsmüller veranstaltet wurde.

In 15 Minuten habe ich einen Überblick über Konzept und Grenzen der Gamification gegeben. Nach einer allgemeinen Begriffsklärung habe ich das Prinzip an einem Beispiel veranschaulicht und mit Hilfe des Gartner Hype Cycle die Probleme erörtert, die der Gamification derzeit vorgeworfen werden. Abschließend habe ich einen kurzen Ausblick in den Bereich des Game Design gewagt.

Musik: McFarland Beats - Slipped, used under CC-BY

Erwerbslosigkeit aus arbeitspsychologischer Sicht

2012-06-12, Fachbereich Psychologie, Universität Hamburg

Erwerbslosigkeit aus arbeitspsychologischer Sicht

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Rahmen des Begleitseminars zum Modul Arbeits- und Organisationspsychologie von einem dreiköpfigen Team gehalten.

Nach einer kurzen Klärung der wichtigsten Begriffe gaben wir eine Übersicht über die arbeitmarktspolitischen Maßnahmen auf Bundesebene in den letzten Jahren, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf den Hartz-Gesetzen. Als Intermezzo zeigten wir einen Ausschnitt aus dem Kabarett-Programm von Volker Pispers zum Thema Hartz IV. Anschließend stellten wir eine Studie vor, die sich mit dem subjektiven Wohlempfinden von Arbeitslosen im Zusammenhang mit Arbeitsbeschaffungsmaßnahmen befasste. Abschließend gab es eine Diskussion im Plenum.

Komplexität und Benutzbarkeit 2012

2012-05-10, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Komplexität und Benutzbarkeit 2012

Es gab eine Zeit, in der Software noch nicht viel konnte und schnell zu überblicken war. Was ist heute anders und was ist gleich geblieben? Software soll mehr leisten und zugleich einfacher zu benutzen sein – ist das ein unauflösbarer Widerspruch? Gibt es eine "neue Einfachheit", oder führt der Weg in den Komplexitäts-Dschungel?

Von der UNIX-Philosophie über die Heimcomputer-Revolution und das Web 2.0 bis hin zu aktuellen Smartphone-Apps wurde die zeitliche Entwicklung der Schnittstellenkomplexität von Software betrachtet. Insbesondere wurde der Begriff der "Einfachheit" kritisch hinterfragt. Auf Basis dieser Beobachtungen und unter Bezugnahme auf theoretisches Wissen aus Interaktions- sowie auch Game Design wurden aktuelle Beispiele und Modelle dargestellt, die den konstruktiven Umgang mit funktionaler Komplexität ermöglichen sollen.

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Rahmen des MCI-Oberseminars gehalten.

Streets4MPI (Projekt Parallele Programmierung)

2012-04-04, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Streets4MPI (Projekt Parallele Programmierung)

Dieser Vortrag kennzeichnete den Abschluss des Projekts Parallele Programmierung.

Wir stellten unsere Ergebnisse umfassend dar, indem wir die verwendeten Algorithmen resümierten, grafische Beispiele präsentierten und Messdaten verglichen.

RSS