Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/2"

Talks

Parallel Programming Project Plan

2012-02-22, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Parallel Programming Project Plan

This talk was presented together with Joachim Nitschke for the Parallel Programming project. It was the kick-off presentation for our project work, where we explained our concept and goals as well as creceived some feedback before the core of the project work began.

We showed and classified the main ideas behind our Streets4MPI project. We also described our data model and planned algorithms and talked about the technical infrastructure. In closing, we explained a rough concept for the parallelization and brought that into discussion.

See also: Project wiki, GitHub

HTTP status codes

2012-01-26, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

HTTP status codes

This Lightning Talk took place in the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by computer science students at the University of Hamburg. It was about the status codes of the HTTP standard and how they are correctly used.

I started by explainig the general idea using a few well-known examples. Next, I examined the group of redirection codes in depth. I ended the talk with a couple of handy rules of thumb for practical usage.

OpenAccess and web publishing for students

2012-01-12, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

OpenAccess and web publishing for students

This talk took place in the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by the Computer Science students.

It was about the general topic OpenAccess and the possibilities for students to participate by publishing their own work online. To encourage that, motivational impulses were provided, publishing platforms were described and Creative Commons was explained and discussed.

Early speech development in children

2011-12-13, Dept. of Psychology, University of Hamburg

Early speech development in children

This talk was presented in the auxiliary seminar for the course Developmental Psychology by Philipp Schlesinger and me.

The base for our content were a chapter from a textbook and a scientific paper explainig a study, which we summarized and presented. We decided to augment the textbook content with a proper introduction into the field of linguistics, which was obviously lacking for people just reading the text. Also, there was a short quiz and a discussion at the end..

Software Reuse

2011-12-05, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Software Reuse

This talk was held in the seminar course for the module Software Architekture, which was organized by Carola Lilienthal.

The content was modeled after chapter 16 of Ian Sommerville's book "Software Engineering". I summarized the chapter's contents and added an additional key point which I thought was lacking in the original text. I also showcased an example to illustrate the consequences of practicing (or neglecting) software reuse.

Badly Written Spambots – an Anecdote

2011-12-01, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Badly Written Spambots – an Anecdote

This Lightning Talk was held in the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by Computer Science students in Hamburg, it was the second one of the session and partly referenced the talk I held directly beforehand.

I explained how I managed to find out from my analytics data how to identify a spam bot that was badly implemented in such a way that it violated important web standards, thus triggering errors. By being stupid, the author of the spam bot relieved me of quite a bit of diagnosis-related work.

Piwik

2011-12-01, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Piwik

This Lightning Talk was held in the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by Computer Science students in Hamburg, it was the first one of the session.

The subject was Piwik, a free and open source tool for website analytics. I explained the basic idea and showcased the possibilities for anonymization and data protection as well as other advantages of Piwik.

Modern HCI Visionaries

2011-07-13, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Modern HCI Visionaries

This is the last of three short talks that I've held for the Interaction Design course.

In this talk, I introduced three people who I consider to be visionaries (in a somewhat broad sense of the word) in the field of HCI. These three people are active in very different sub-areas of the field and have quite heterogenous backgrounds. Instead of reciting easily available biographical information, I opted to portray them using iconic quotations.

Layers of Mastery

2011-07-06, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Layers of Mastery

This is the second of three short talks that I've held for the Interaction Design course.

In this talk, I presented the Layers of Mastery framework by Daniel Cook, starting with a thought experiment on what might have happened if there had been any product designers a million years ago. I then doubted the suitability of user testing as an indicator for the optimal level of complexity of a software application and postulated that a lot of very successful (especially in the long term) software, like Microsoft Excl or Adobe Photoshop, does not cater solely to beginners, but also offers the complex functionality needed by advanced and expert users. I introduced the Layers of Mastery as an explanation for this phenomenon and explained them in detail. The talk culminated with a perspective that it is not beginner friendliness that makes a tool capable of greatness, but flexibility and utility.

GPGPU and Stream Computing

2011-06-30, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

GPGPU and Stream Computing

This talk was held in the seminar for the course Parallel Programming and dealt with general purpose computation on graphics hardware and fundamentals of stream computing. Building on previous knowledge about computer architecture and parallelization strategies, I contextualized GPGPU and introduced stream computing as its background. I then demonstrated a few modern languages and technologies (CUDA, OpenCL) and briefly touched upon compilation processes (NVIDIA PTX, AMD IL). The talk ended with perspectives on programmability and efficiency of the technologies and a short overview of the latest trends.

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/2“

Vorträge

Parallele Programmierung Projektplan

2012-02-22, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Parallele Programmierung Projektplan

Diesen Vortrag habe ich zusammen mit Joachim Nitschke für das Projekt Parallele Programmierung gehalten. Es handelte sich um den Startvortrag unserer Projektarbeit, in dem wir vor Beginn der eigentlichen Arbeit unser Konzept dargelegt und Feedback eingeholt haben.

Wir haben die Grundidee hinter unserem Streets4MPI-Projekt erklärt und eingeordnet. Wir haben außerdem unser Datenmodell und geplante Algorithmen beschrieben sowie die technische Infrastruktur genannt. Abschließend haben wir ein Grobkonzept zur Parallelisierung erläutert und zur Diskussion geführt.

Siehe auch: Projektwiki, GitHub

HTTP-Status-Codes

2012-01-26, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

HTTP-Status-Codes

Diesen Lightning Talk habe ich im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik gehalten, es ging dabei um das Konzept der Status-Codes im HTTP-Standard und wie man diese einsetzt.

Ich habe die Grundidee erklärt und einige Beispiele genannt. Exemplarisch habe ich die Gruppe der Redirect-Codes herausgenommen und genauer aufgeschlüsselt. Beendet habe ich den Talk mit einigen Merksätzen für die praktische Anwendung.

OpenAccess und Web-Publishing für Studierende

2012-01-12, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

OpenAccess und Web-Publishing für Studierende

Dieser Vortrag wurde im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik gehalten.

Es ging um den Themenkomplex OpenAccess und die Frage, wie Studierende sich in diesem Umfeld konstruktiv betätigen können, indem sie eigene Arbeitsergebnisse selbst veröffentlichen. Zu dem Zwecke wurden Motivationshilfen gegeben, es wurden Möglichkeiten und Plattformen beschrieben sowie Creative Commons erklärt und beleuchtet.

Frühkindlicher Spracherwerb

2011-12-13, Fachbereich Psychologie, Universität Hamburg

Frühkindlicher Spracherwerb

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Begleitseminar der Veranstaltung Entwicklungspsychologie von Philipp Schlesinger und mir gehalten.

Wir hatten einen Lehrbuchtext und ein Paper als inhaltliche Grundlage, die wir zusammenfassen und präsentieren sollten. Wir entschieden uns dafür, den Lehrbuchtext um eine thematische Einführung in die Linguistik zu ergänzen, um das Verständnis zu erleichtern. Außerdem gab es ein Quiz und eine Diskussion zum Abschluss.

Software-Wiederverwendung

2011-12-05, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Software-Wiederverwendung

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Seminar zum Modul Softwarearchitektur gehalten, das von Carola Lilienthal organisiert wurde.

Der Inhalt orientierte sich an Kapitel 16 des Buchs "Software Engineering" von Ian Sommerville. Ich habe die Inhalte des Buchkapitels grob wiedergegeben und um einen zusätzlichen Schwerpunkt ergänzt. Außerdem habe ich ein Fallbeispiel eingebracht, das mögliche Auswirkungen von Software-Wiederverwendung und deren Versäumnis aufzeigen sollte.

Nachlässig programmierte Spambots – eine Anekdote

2011-12-01, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Nachlässig programmierte Spambots – eine Anekdote

Diesen Lightning Talk habe ich im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik gehalten, es war der zweite des Abends und baute geringfügig auf dem auf, den ich direkt davor gehalten hatte.

Ich habe darin erzählt, wie ich aus meinen Analytics-Daten einen Spambot identifizieren konnte, der auf eine Weise auf Seiten zugriff, die Web-Standards verletzt und deshalb zu Fehlern führte. So nahm mir der Autor dieses Spambots die Hälfte der mühsamen Diagnose-Arbeit ab.

Piwik

2011-12-01, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Piwik

Diesen Lightning Talk habe ich im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik gehalten, es war der erste des Abends und hatte einen einführenden Charakter.

Es ging um Piwik, ein freies Werkzeug für Website-Analytics. Ich habe die Grundidee erklärt und die Möglichkeiten von Piwik hinsichtlich Anonymisierung und andere Vorteile erklärt.

Moderne Visionäre der MCI

2011-07-13, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Moderne Visionäre der MCI

Dies ist der letzte von drei Kurzvorträgen für die Vorlesung Interaktionsdesign.

In diesem Vortrag habe ich drei Personen vorgestellt, die ich im weiteren Sinne als Visionäre im Bereich der MCI betrachte. Diese drei Personen entstammen verschiedenen Teilgebieten und haben stark heterogene Hintergründe. Ich habe auf Lebenslauf-Fakten beinahe komplett verzichtet und die Darstellung stattdessen anhand von Zitaten der Personen vorgenommen.

Layers of Mastery

2011-07-06, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Layers of Mastery

Dies ist der zweite von drei Kurzvorträgen für die Vorlesung Interaktionsdesign.

In diesem Vortrag habe ich das Layers of Mastery-Modell von Daniel Cook vorgestellt, angefangen mit einem Gedankenexperiment dazu, was wohl passiert wäre, wenn es vor einer Million Jahren bereits Produktdesigner gegeben hätte. Ich habe dann die Sinnhaftigkeit von Nutzertests als Indikator für die zumutbare Komplexität von Software in Frage gestellt und habe darauf aufmerksam gemacht, dass viel erfolgreiche Software (etwa Microsoft Excl oder Adobe Photoshop) nicht ausschließlich für neue Benutzer entwickeln, sondern auch in hohem Maße die komplexe Funktionalität bereitstellen, die von Experten benötigt wird. Schließlich habe ich die Layers of Mastery als Erklärung für dieses Phänomen vorgestellt. Beendet habe ich den Vortrag mit einer Perspektive darauf, dass nicht Einsteigerfreundlichkeit ein Werkzeug zu Großem befähigt, sondern Flexibilität und Nützlichkeit.

GPGPU und Stream Computing

2011-06-30, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

GPGPU und Stream Computing

Dieser Vortrag, den ich im Seminar zum Projektmodul Paralleles Programmieren gehalten habe, beschäftigte sich mit Allzweckprogrammierung auf Grafikkarten und den Grundsätzen des Stream Computing. Aufbauend auf Grundwissen über Rechnerarchitektur und Parallelisierungsmethoden ordnete ich GPGPU in den Kontext ein und stellte das Stream Computing vor. Danach erläuterte ich einige aktuelle Sprachen und Technologien (CUDA, OpenCL) und ging kurz auf Fragen der Kompilierung ein (NVIDIA PTX, AMD IL). Der Vortrag endete mit einer Beleuchtung von Programmierbarkeit und Effizienz der Techniken und einem kurzen Ausblick auf aktuelle Forschung.

RSS