Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/3"

Talks

Gamification

2011-06-29, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Gamification

This talk was held as the first of three accompanying short talks for the Interaction Design course.

I gave an introduction into the world of "gamification" and explained how people came up with the idea of enriching application software with playful elements. The content of this talk was limited, as it was meant to be a starting point for further individual research. The discussion among the audience concerning viable implementations and more examples worked well to complete the event.

Operant Conditioning

2011-06-08, Dept. of Psychology, University of Hamburg

Operant Conditioning

This talk was held by Annika Kolaska, Martin Selke and me during the seminar course for Allgemeine Psychologie 2. It is modeled after chapters 6 and 7 from James E. Mazur: Learning and Behavior. I was responsible for the last third about the two studies.

In the first part, Annika introduced and explained the fundamentals of operant confitioning as well as several relevant experiments. In the second part, Martin further illuminated and expanded on that knowledge. I then showed two studies in which operant conditioning was employed in two distinct fashions.

Interaction in the Blogosphere

2011-05-24, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Interaction in the Blogosphere

This talk was held in the course Computer-Supported Cooperative Work.

I started by explainig "blogging" as such and what it's about, then going into interaction patterns frequently found on blogs. Among those were comments and their structure, Trackbacks and Pingbacks as well as social media widgets. I ended with two scenarios concerning anonymous blogging and the use of blogs for knowledge management by enterprises, respectively, as well as a brief look at a possible future for blogging.

Temporal logic and bisimulation

2011-02-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Temporal logic and bisimulation

This talk was held in the course Formal foundations of informatics 3. By explaining some simple examples, we showcased trace equivalence and bisimulation in transition systems. Afterwards, we introduced several temporal logics, examined how their respective term equivalence relates to trace equivalence and/or bisimulation and finally proved the relations.

Thunderbird and Notify OSD

2011-01-27, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Thunderbird and Notify OSD

This lightning talk was held in the KunterBuntesSeminar. I introduced the topic with the first slide and then showed live how to transition from Thunderbrid's own notifications to using Notify OSD (and also the indicator applet, incidentally) on a typical Ubuntu Linux desktop.

For the downloadable slides here, a summary of what to do has been added.

8 puzzle

2011-01-24, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

8 puzzle

This presentation was held in the "Introduction to knowledge management" course. For a three-week-long assignment, our group consisting of three students programmed an A* based solver for the 8 puzzle in Racket/Scheme. This accompanying slide was created half as a visualization aid and half as a joke, since we didn't see the need for any slides, but creating a presentation with "up to ten slides" was compulsory.

Complexity vs. Usability in Desktop Software

2011-01-15, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Complexity vs. Usability in Desktop Software

This talk, held in the "Interactive Systems" course, has been about complexity and usability in software. Specifically, I've talked about how requirements for functionality and complexity have changed and how they have influenced usability concerns. Additionally I showcased several methods and ideas for software developers and UI designers to constructively deal with increasing complexity and still keep the software usable and enjoyable.

A small C puzzler

2010-12-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

A small C puzzler

This Lightning Talk was held at the KunterBuntesSeminar organized by computer science students at the University of Hamburg.

In these slightly more than five minutes I showed a small snippet of C code, explained referencing and dereferencing operators as well as macros, and posed a tricky question about a bit of C code that combines those concepts in a particular way. I then proceeded to explain the compiler behaviour that caught my fellow students by surprise by looking at the 99 ISO standard.

Tunneling with sshuttle

2010-12-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Tunneling with sshuttle

In this Lightning Talk, held at the KunterBuntesSeminar, I presented a small tool called sshuttle and compared it to other, more well-known software solutions.

The Department of Computer Science at the University of Hamburg uses, among other things, IP-based authentication for access control. This means that there are some resources, e.g. on the web, which can only be accessed from the Dept. of Computer Science IP subnet. To access these resources from home, it is necessary to create and use some sort of connection to the CS net. This can be accomplished by connecting to the VPN or by establishing an SSH connection. The tool I showcased, sshuttle, promises a new way to solve this problem by tunneling IP traffic through a simple SSH connection using iptables. This idea has several advantages over the alternatives.

Specific perceptions: motion, space, depth and size

2010-11-22, Dept. of Psychology, University of Hamburg

Specific perceptions: motion, space, depth and size

This talk was held in a course on cognitive psychology, together with two fellow students. My part was the one in the middle, about depth perception.

After the part about motion (in which I was only slightly involved), I introduced depth perception as a curious feat of the mind, in light of our retinas being two-dimensional. I then proceeded to explain how to feel the muscles in the eye, showed a variety of depth cues in still images and videos and explained binocular depth perception as a result of shifted retinal images. My part of the talk ended with a very brief neurological look at depth perception. We used the Ames room as a depth-based illusion as a transition to size and scale, the third an final part of the talk.

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/3“

Vorträge

Gamification

2011-06-29, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Gamification

Dieser Vortrag wurde als der erste von drei kurzen ergänzenden Vorträgen in der Vorlesung Interaktionsdesign gehalten.

Ich habe einen Einblick und Denkanstoß in das Thema "Gamification" gegeben und erläutert, wieso man auf die Idee kommt, spielerische Elemente in Anwendungssoftware einzubringen. Die Diskussion mit den Teilnehmern über mögliche Einsatzzwecke und weitere Beispiele rundete das Ganze ab.

Operante Konditionierung

2011-06-08, Fachbereich Psychologie, Universität Hamburg

Operante Konditionierung

Dieser Vortrag wurde von Annika Kolaska, Martin Selke und mir im Seminar zum Modul Allgemeine Psychologie 2 gehalten. Er orientiert sich an den Kapiteln 6 und 7 aus James E. Mazur: Lernen und Verhalten. Mein Anteil war das letzte Drittel zu den zwei Studien.

Im ersten Teil hat Annika die Grundlagen der operanten Konditionierung und einige relevante Experimente beschrieben. Im zweiten Teil wurden diese Kenntnisse von Martin weiter vertieft und abgerundet. Ich habe dann zwei Studien vorgestellt, in denen operante Konditionierung auf unterschiedliche Weisen eingesetzt wurde.

Interaktionsformen in der Blogosphäre

2011-05-24, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Interaktionsformen in der Blogosphäre

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Seminar zum Modul Computergestützte Kooperation gehalten.

Ich habe das Thema "Blogging" allgemein erläutert und bin auf dieser Basis in Interaktionsformen auf Blogs eingestiegen, wozu neben Kommentaren z.B. noch die Track- und Pingbacks sowie Widgets für soziale Netzwerke zählen. Geendet habe ich mit zwei kleinen Szenarien zum anonymen Bloggen bzw. zu unternehmensinternen Blogging-Strategien sowie einem Ausblick auf die Zukunft des Bloggings.

Temporale Logik und Bisimulation

2011-02-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Temporale Logik und Bisimulation

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Modul Formale Grundlagen der Informatik 3 gehalten. Anhand einfacher Beispiele wurden zunächst Folgenäquivalenz und Bisimulation als mögliche Äquivalenzrelationen über Transitionssystemen vorgestellt. Danach wurden mehrere temporale Logiken vorgestellt und schließlich wurde untersucht, wie die Äquivalenzen der Terme jener Temporallogiken mit der Folgenäquivalenz und Bisimulation zusammenhängen.

Thunderbird und Notify OSD

2011-01-27, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Thunderbird und Notify OSD

Dieser Lightning Talk wurde im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik der Universität Hamburg gehalten. Mit der Titelfolie habe ich das Thema eingeleitet und im Anschluss direkt live gezeigt, wie man Thunderbird unter einem frischen Ubuntu Linux von den eigenen Notifications auf Notify OSD umstellt (und nebenbei auch gleich das Indicator Applet verwendet).

Für die hier verfügbaren Folien wurde eine Zusammenfassung der Vorgehensweise hinzugefügt.

Schiebepuzzle

2011-01-24, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Schiebepuzzle

Diese Präsentation wurde im Modul "Grundlagen der Wissensverarbeitung" gehalten. Im Zuge einer dreiwöchigen Programmieraufgabe entwickelte unsere Gruppe bestehend aus drei Studenten ein Programm, welches basierend auf dem A*-Algorithmus ein Schiebepuzzle mit acht Teilen löst. Als Implementierungssprache haben wir uns für Racket/Scheme entschieden. Diese begleitende Folie diente einerseits als Visualisierungshilfe, war aber andererseits auch als nicht ganz ernst gemeinter Seitenhieb auf die Aufgabenstellung gedacht, da diese für die Präsentation des Programms die Einsendung von einer Präsentationdatei mit "bis zu zehn Folien" vorschrieb.

Komplexität und Benutzbarkeit von Anwendungssoftware

2011-01-15, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Komplexität und Benutzbarkeit von Anwendungssoftware

In diesem Seminarvortrag im Vertiefungsmodul "Interaktive Systeme" habe ich dargestellt, wie Anwendungssoftware sich im Bezug auf Komplexität entwickeln. Verschiedene Ansätze für Softwareentwickler und UI-Designer, mit steigender Komplexität umzugehen und Software trotzdem benutzbar zu gestalten, wurden vorgestellt.

Ein C-Puzzler

2010-12-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Ein C-Puzzler

Bei diesem Vortrag handelte es sich um einen Lightning Talk im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik.

In ganz knapp über fünf Minuten habe ich etwas C-Code erklärt, Makros und Zeigervariablen in C gezeigt und darauf aufbauend dann eine kleine Quizfrage gestellt. Die für die Teilnehmer überraschende Lösung habe ich dann anhand des Compilerverhaltens von GCC und dem ISO-Standard zu C99 erklärt.

Tunneln mit sshuttle

2010-12-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Tunneln mit sshuttle

In diesem Lightning Talk, den ich im KunterBuntenSeminar der Fachschaft Informatik gehalten habe, habe ich ein Tool namens sshuttle vorgestellt und mit vergleichbaren, bekannteren Softwarelösungen verglichen.

Der Fachbereich Informatik verwendet teilweise IP-basierte Zugangsbeschränkungen, mit denen bestimmte Inhalte bspw. im Web nur vom Subnetz der Informatik aus erreichbar sind. Um diese Ressourcen auch von zuhause aus nutzen zu können, ist es nötig, einen Zugang zum Informatik-Netz zu nutzen. Das kann über das VPN der Informatik oder auch über SSH geschehen. Einen neuen Ansatz liefert sshuttle, indem es IP-Traffic per Routing-Regeln durch eine normale SSH-Verbindung tunnelt. Dieser Ansatz bietet einige Vorteile gegenüber den Alternativen.

Spezifische Wahrnehmungsleistungen: Bewegung, Raum, Größe und Tiefe

2010-11-22, Fachbereich Psychologie, Universität Hamburg

Spezifische Wahrnehmungsleistungen: Bewegung, Raum, Größe und Tiefe

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Begleitseminar zum Modul Allgemeine Psychologie 1 gehalten. Neben mir waren noch zwei Kommilitoninnen beteiligt. Mein Anteil des Vortrags war der mittlere zum Thema Tiefenwahrnehmung.

Nach dem thematischen Abschnitt zur Bewegungswahnehmung, an dem ich nicht weiter beteiligt war, habe ich Tiefenwahrnehmung in ihren Grundzügen erklärt und nacheinander mehrere Arten von Tiefenreizen vorgestellt: okulomotorische (das Spüren der eigenen Augenmuskulatur), monokulare (mit einem Auge wahrnehmbare Reize wie Verdeckung, relative Größe) und binokulare (Tiefenwahrnehmung auf Basis von Querdisparität der Abbilder auf den Retinas). Mit einem kurzen Blick auf die neuronale Verarbeitung von Tiefenreizen habe ich meinen Teil des Vortrags beendet und mit dem Ames-Raum als Beispiel für Täuschungen der Tiefenwahrnehmung zum letzten Drittel übergeleitet, welches sich mit Größenwahrnehmung befasste.

RSS