Retrieved from "http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/4"

Talks

What is LaTeX anyway?

2010-11-11, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

What is LaTeX anyway?

This talk was held in the KunterBunteSeminar, a workshop conducted by the students of the Computer Science department, University of Hamburg.

It was conceived as a general introduction to working with LaTeX, primarily appropriate for absolute beginners. I gave an overview of how LaTeX documents are structured and how packages are included. Next, I spent a lot of time going over the most important and well-known packages (such as KOMA-Script and Beamer). Also included were some handy tips and tricks that hopefully help make LaTeX more fun and less daunting.

At the end, we had a look at the LaTeX code of some example documents I prepared: a simple official-looking letter, the current version of my bachelor thesis, and the very slides for this presentation.

The Teachlet Concept (second talk)

2010-11-02, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

The Teachlet Concept (second talk)

This talk was held in the Oberseminar of the Softwaretechnik working group. It was an approximate rehearsal of my earlier thesis defense, which had been held one month earlier and didn't get much exposure because the term hadn't started then. The Oberseminar gave me the opportunity to repeat the talk (with minor adjustments) in front of a bigger audience.

I gave an overview of my Bachelor thesis work and how it relates to current developments in the area. I explained the main idea, how I gathered empirical data and to what conclusions it led me.

The Teachlet Concept (Bachelor thesis defense)

2010-10-04, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

The Teachlet Concept (Bachelor thesis defense)

This talk was held as the last of three 30 minute talks of its kind.

I gave an overview of my Bachelor thesis work and how it relates to current developments in the area. I explained the main idea, how I gathered empirical data and to what conclusions it led me.

The state pattern

2010-08-25, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

The state pattern

This talk was held for a group of participants of the software development practical course of 2010. Because none of the participants chose design patterns as the topic of their talk, I was invited to fill the gap.

After a short summary of the general idea of object-oriented design patterns (which the participants should already know from their previous courses), I introduced and explained the state pattern using a small example.

The current state of language diversity at the University of Hamburg

2010-06-22, Institute for German language, Universität Hamburg

The current state of language diversity at the University of Hamburg

This talk was held in a project seminar titled "Multilingual communication in institutions" and illustrated the state and difficulties of multilingualism in relation to teaching and learning at the University of Hamburg.

In approximately thirty minutes, I showed the role of multilingualism concerning the teaching at our university. To that end, I explained and showed both the official rules about languages in teaching as well as several experiences of both students and teachers.

Why don't I have to agree to the GPL when installing Linux?

2010-06-15, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Why don't I have to agree to the GPL when installing Linux?

This is a lightning talk (five minutes in duration) that was held at the KunterBuntesSeminar in the summer of 2010.

In it, I addressed the differences between a EULA (like a lot of proprietary software use them) and a permissive license like the GPL, which is used, among others, by the Linux kernel. Most importantly, I explained why there's no "accept the GPL" screen during a Linux installation.

Ubuntu bug #248619

2010-06-15, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

Ubuntu bug #248619

This is a lightning talk (five minutes in duration) that was held at the KunterBuntesSeminar in the summer of 2010.

I introduced the symptoms of famed ubuntu launchpad bug #248619 and its duplicates and examined the cause of the problem.

The State Pattern (2010)

2010-04-27, Dept. of Computer Science, University of Hamburg

The State Pattern (2010)

This talk was held in the "Concepts of object-oriented programming languages" course by Axel Schmolitzky and Christian Späh. It was a reproduction of a teachlet that was first designed and held by Janina Nemec and me the year before.

I guided the participants through solving a software design problem using the "state" design pattern. This was, in teachlet tradition, accomplished by offering them a clear-cut problem and discussing several possible solutions, before talking about the state pattern and finally live implementing the solution together.

I tried to shorten some parts slightly in comparison to the first run in order to not take as much time.

On addressing conversational partners in german

2010-04-26, Institute for German language, Universität Hamburg

On addressing conversational partners in german

This talk was held by Luisa Dewitz and me in a course about the typological analysis of the german language by Dr. Kameyama.

Due to our topic being the first one, we had little time to prepare the talk. Fortunately we succeeded in combing through the source material, giving structure to our content and even including some interactive elements, such as the map of addressing systems in relation to each other, which was created with and by the course participants.

Sentence structure - highlight

2009-12-16, Institute for German language, Universität Hamburg

Sentence structure - highlight

This short and minimal talk was held in the introduction to linguistics course conducted by Bernd Meyer.

As a relatively big team, we were tasked with identifying a highlight and a "lowlight" concerning the chapter on sentence structure in the book we used for the course, as well as the corresponding course session.

As the lowlight we presented a particularly vague and misleading sentence in the book, and as the highlight we showed an excerpt about sentence structure from the famous essay "The Awful German Language" by Mark Twain.

This talk was meant to last five minutes at most, which is why there are so few slides and so little content.

RSS

Von „http://www.julian-fietkau.de/talks/4“

Vorträge

Was ist eigentlich LaTeX?

2010-11-11, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Was ist eigentlich LaTeX?

Diesen Vortrag habe ich im KunterBuntenSeminar gehalten, einem freien Seminar der Studierenden der Informatik an der Universität Hamburg.

Der Vortrag war ein Überblick über LaTeX mit Einsteigern als primäre Zielgruppe. Entsprechend habe ich als erstes den grundlegenden Aufbau eines LaTeX-Dokuments erklärt, wie Befehle angegeben und Packages eingebunden werden. Den Hauptteil stellte dann eine Einführung in die wichtigsten Packages (Koma-Skript, Beamer etc.) dar, auf deren ausführliche Dokumentation ich immer wieder verwiesen habe. Ebenfalls habe ich eine Reihe von Tipps und Tricks gegeben, die hoffentlich dazu beitragen, den Umgang mit LaTeX angenehmer zu gestalten.

Zum Abschluss habe ich dem Publikum die Möglichkeit gegeben, in ein paar von mir mitgebrachten Beispieldokumenten zu stöbern: in einem einfachen Brief, der aktuellen Version meiner Bachelorarbeit und dem Original-Foliensatz für diese Präsentation.

Das Teachlet-Konzept (Oberseminar)

2010-11-02, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Das Teachlet-Konzept (Oberseminar)

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Oberseminar des Arbeitsbereichs Softwaretechnik gehalten. Da mein eigentlicher Kolloquiumsvortrag in der vorlesungsfreien Zeit lag, bot sich hier die Gelegenheit, ihn vor einem etwas größeren Publikum erneut zu halten. Die Inhalte sind weitgehend gleich.

In dem Vortrag habe ich einen Überblick darüber gegeben, was ich für meine Bachelorarbeit getan habe und wie meine Ergebnisse aussehen. Ich habe einige Zeit mit der Klärung der Begriffswelt verbracht, dargestellt welche Ziele ich mir gesetzt hatte und wie ich sie erreicht habe. Am Ende habe ich auch die noch ausstehenden Aufgaben aufgezählt.

Das Teachlet-Konzept (Kolloquiumsvortrag)

2010-10-04, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Das Teachlet-Konzept (Kolloquiumsvortrag)

Dieser Vortrag fand im Rahmen einer Sammlung von Bachelor-Kolloquiumsvorträgen zusammen mit zwei weiteren seiner Art statt und dauerte 30 Minuten.

In dem Vortrag habe ich einen Überblick darüber gegeben, was ich für meine Bachelorarbeit getan habe und wie meine Ergebnisse aussehen. Ich habe einige Zeit mit der Klärung der Begriffswelt verbracht, dargestellt welche Ziele ich mir gesetzt hatte und wie ich sie erreicht habe.

Das Zustandsmuster

2010-08-25, Fachbereich Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Das Zustandsmuster

Diesen Vortrag habe ich als Gast im Softwareentwicklungspraktikum 2010 gehalten.

Ich habe versucht, einerseits den Grundgedanken von objektorientierten Entwurfsmustern zu wiederholen und andererseits den Teilnehmern das Zustandsmuster anhand eines Beispiels näher zu bringen.

Mehrsprachigkeit in der Lehre an der Universität Hamburg

2010-06-22, Institut für Germanistik I, Universität Hamburg

Mehrsprachigkeit in der Lehre an der Universität Hamburg

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Rahmen des Projektseminars zum Thema "Mehrsprachige Kommunikation in Institutionen" gehalten.

In etwa einer halben Stunde habe ich dargestellt, wie in der Lehre an der Universität Hamburg das Thema Mehrsprachigkeit ausgeprägt ist. Dabei ging es um die offiziellen Regelungen zu Lehr- und Prüfungssprachen sowie um Erfahrungen von Lehrenden und Studierenden.

Warum muss ich beim Installieren von Linux nicht der GPL zustimmen?

2010-06-15, Department Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Warum muss ich beim Installieren von Linux nicht der GPL zustimmen?

Dieser Lightning Talk (fünf Minuten lang) wurde im KunterBuntenSeminar im Sommer 2010 gehalten, welches die Fachschaft Informatik der Universität Hamburg veranstaltet.

In diesem Vortrag habe ich den Unterschied zwischen einem EULA (wie er von vielerlei proprietärer Software verwendet wird) und einer Lizenz wie der GPL erklärt. Insbesondere habe ich erläutert, wieso es bei der Installation eines Linux-Systems keinen Abschnitt gibt, in dem man der GPL zustimmen müsste, um die Software zu verwenden.

Ubuntu bug #248619

2010-06-15, Department Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Ubuntu bug #248619

Dieser Lightning Talk (fünf Minuten lang) wurde im KunterBuntenSeminar im Sommer 2010 gehalten, welches die Fachschaft Informatik der Universität Hamburg veranstaltet.

Ich habe dort die Probleme des Ubuntu-Launchpad-Bugs #248619 erläutert und die Ursache des merkwürdigen Verhaltens aufgezeigt.

Entwurfsmuster Zustand (2010)

2010-04-27, Department Informatik, Universität Hamburg

Entwurfsmuster Zustand (2010)

Dieser Vortrag wurde im Seminar "Konzepte Objektorientierter Programmiersprachen", veranstaltet von Axel Schmolitzky und Christian Späh, gehalten. Es handelte sich um eine Wiederaufführung eines Teachlets, das ich im Jahr davor zusammen mit Janina Nemec im gleichen Seminar entworfen und gehalten habe.

Ich vermittelte den Seminarteilnehmern das Entwurfsmuster "Zustand", indem ich ihnen (in bewährter Teachlet-Tradition) eine überschaubare Entwurfsaufgabe stellte, die zustandsbezogenes Verhalten enthielt. Ich gab außerdem noch einige Informationen zum Zustandsmuster und setzte schließlich eine Lösung gemeinsam mit dem Plenum live am Beamer um.

Im Vergleich zur letzten Durchführung habe ich versucht, einige Teile leicht zu kürzen, um die Zeit nicht wieder überziehen zu müssen.

Anredeformen im Deutschen

2010-04-26, Institut für Germanistik I, Universität Hamburg

Anredeformen im Deutschen

Dieser Vortrag wurde von Luisa Dewitz und mir im Rahmen des Seminars "Deutsch - typologisch" bei Dr. Kameyama gehalten.

Wir hatten uns den ersten Vortragstermin ausgesucht und hatten deshalb nur wenig Vorbereitungszeit zur Verfügung. Trotzdem ist es uns gelungen, ausreichend Quellen durchzuarbeiten, den Vortrag gut zu strukturieren und ein paar interaktive Elemente einzubauen. So ist z.B. die Topologie der Anredesysteme mit Hilfe der Teilnehmer entstanden.

Satzbau - Highlight

2009-12-16, Institut für Germanistik I, Universität Hamburg

Satzbau - Highlight

Dieser minimal gehaltene Kurzvortrag wurde im Seminar zum Modul "Einführung in die Linguistik des Deutschen" gehalten, das von Bernd Meyer veranstaltet wurde.

Wir wurden als vergleichsweise große Arbeitsgruppe damit beauftragt, bezogen auf den Seminartermin zum Thema Satzbau und dem entsprechenden Kapitel des von uns verwendeten Lehrbuches ein Highlight und ein "Lowlight" zu identifizieren.

Als Lowlight haben wir uns für einen besonders irreführenden und missverständlichen Satz aus dem Buch entschieden, für das Highlight haben wir einen Auszug aus Mark Twains berühmten Werk "The Awful German Language" vorgestellt.

Da dieser Vortrag höchstens fünf Minuten dauern sollte, gab es nur wenig Inhalt und deshalb wenige Folien.

RSS